I Can’t Imagine Life Without Art

4/4/15
I Can’t Imagine a Life Without Art.

My home studio got a major organizational overhaul, and as a result, a creative space emerged where I can make mixed media small works on paper or canvas in the midst of all of my favorite art supplies. Inviting and personal, the space called out for inspiring images. After hanging all of my posters from France, diplomas, cards and images cut from art journals and pubs, photos of and from my father, I realized I have zero photos of my mother in this space. The text on the bottom of this mixed media piece reads, “there aren’t any actual images of mom in this studio but plenty of references to her in the french memorabilia.” When I prepare to work on a piece, I take a moment for automatic writing just minutes before I begin applying the materials/media. I then pull from the writing and repeat it on the artwork itself. Working intuitively in this fashion gives me pure joy.

Leave a Reply

